Meet our Board

The Summer KiwiSaver scheme is managed by Forsyth Barr Investment Management Ltd. Forsyth Barr Investment Management Ltd is a licenced manager of registered schemes and part of the Forsyth Barr group of companies. The directors of Forsyth Barr Investment Management Ltd are detailed below.


Neil Paviour-Smith
Managing Director
Forsyth Barr  |  DDI: +64 4 495 8182  |  Mobile: +64 21 634 560

Neil has over 25 years’ experience in various roles in New Zealand capital markets. He joined Forsyth Barr as Research Director before being appointed Managing Director in 2001. Forsyth Barr is a leading New Zealand sharebroking firm and investment bank with over 300 staff across 20 offices throughout NZ. Forsyth Barr provides the full range of private client and institutional broking, wealth management and investment banking services advising over 50,000 clients on their investments with a value in excess of $10 billion.

Neil is a Director of Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand (CAANZ), a Council member of Victoria University of Wellington and former Director of NZX. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals NZ (INFINZ), having been Chairman of the NZ Society of Investment Analysts 1999-2001. He is an Authorised Financial Adviser, a Fellow Chartered Accountant, Member of the NZX, Chartered Member of the IOD and a member of the CFA Society NZ and Stockbrokers and Financial Advisers Association.  Neil was an inaugural recipient of a Sir Peter Blake Trust Leadership Award in 2005.

None of Forsyth Barr Limited or its related companies are registered banks.


Andy Bowley
Head of Research
Forsyth Barr  |  DDI: +64 4 495 8246  |  Mobile: +64 21 338 941

Andy Bowley joined Forsyth Barr in 2012 as Head of Research. He has over 15 years of industry experience, having worked previously as an equity analyst in Johannesburg, London, Sydney and also domestically for several leading global investment banks.

Andy is also an FCA Chartered Accountant and has a 1st class BEng (Hons) degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Nottingham.

Andy has managerial responsibility for investment research at Forsyth Barr, encompassing a team of 20 analysts focussed on a variety of asset classes and distribution channels, and in an operational capacity has active equity coverage of several NZX sectors. In addition he is Chairman of the Forsyth Barr Investment Committee and is a board member of the Institute of Financial Professionals New Zealand Inc (INFINZ).

Adobe PDF file icon 24x24 Disclosure Statement (43 KB)


Nick Hegan
Head of Legal and Compliance
Forsyth Barr  |  DDI: +64 4 495 8202  |  Mobile: +64 21 183 3198

Nick Hegan joined Forsyth Barr in 2014. He was previously a partner at a large New Zealand law firm and has over 20 years of experience in the financial and legal industries in New Zealand and overseas, including advising on regulatory issues and securities law, mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures and all aspects of general corporate and commercial law. Prior to commencing legal practice, Nick worked as a financial markets trader.

Nick is a member of the NZX Markets Disciplinary Tribunal, and holds an LLB (Hons) from Victoria University and a BSc (Hons) (Mathematics) from the University of Canterbury.


Shane Edmond
Head of Private Client Services
Forsyth Barr  |  DDI: +64 3 363 1419  |  Mobile: +64 21 995 519

Shane Edmond joined Forsyth Barr in 2002 as Head of Retail Broking, having operated in the stockbroking industry since 1986.  He has extensive experience in the private client market in New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

Shane is a member of the Financial Markets Authority’s Code Committee for Financial Advisors and also a member of the Code Working Group appointed in July 2017.